Heroes of Agriculture, Food and Environment

Some 14 Hawaii Island farmers, ranchers, food purveyors and ag entrepreneurs were among the “Heroes of Agriculture, Food and Environment” honored at the Hawaii Agriculture Conference held Sept. 23-24 at Ko’Olina, Oahu.

Ag conference organizers began polling the agriculture community in August, seeking nominations in seven categories. A review team then selects the winners based on the write-ups submitted.

“We were looking for the behind-the-scene heroes, the humble leaders,” said Kim Coffee-Isaak, executive director of the Agricultural Leadership Foundation of Hawaii.

The 2010 Heroes of Agriculture, Food and the Environment are:

Hawaii’s Oldest Commercial Farm

– Isaac and Gladys Kanoa, Taro Growers, Maui

– James Peterson Jr. and Alan Peterson, Petersons’ Upland Farm, Oahu

Next Generation Taking Over the Farm Operation

– Shin Ho and Neal Ho, Ho Farms, LLC, Oahu

– Eric Tanouye, Green Point Nursery, Hawaii

– Sabrina White, Ponoholo Ranch, Hawaii

Employees Supporting Farm Owners and Farm Excellence

– Ben Grice and Herman Calpito, Carmencita Calpito Pacific Produce Inc., Maui

– Carolyn McNally and Shannon Gilbertson, Mountain View Anthuriums, Hawaii

– Cheryse Sana and Manny Miles, MA’O Organic Farms, Oahu

Farmer-Entrepreneurs doing Business with Excellence

– Lisa Asagi, Asagi Hatchery, Oahu

– Al Galimba, Kuahiwi Ranch, Hawaii

– Joel and Salvadore Gil, Coca Farm, Maui

– Tom Greenwell, Greenwell Farms, Hawaii

– Richard Ha, Hamakua Springs Country Farms, Hawaii

– Chris Kobayashi and Dimi Rivera, Wai’oli Farms, Kauai

– Glenn Martinez, Olomana Gardens, Oahu

– Gerry Ross, Kupa’a Farm, Maui

– Dick and Heather Threlfall, Hawaii Island Goat Dairy, Hawaii

Food Business or School Doing Business with Excellence

– Lloyd Fischel, Lanikai Farms, Maui

– Ed Kenney, Town & Downtown Restaurant, Oahu

– Donna Mitts, Paauilo Elementary and Intermediate School, Hawaii

– Vicki and Thomas Nelson, Puna Kamali’i Flowers Inc., Hawaii

Environmental Supporters doing Work with Excellence

– Mark Cummings, Hawaiian Earth Products, Oahu

– Kioni Dudley, Friends of Makakilo, Oahu

– Home Le’amohala, Onipa’a — Center for Sustainability-Optimum Living Alliance, Maui

– Nancy Redfeather, Kawanui Farm, Hawaii

– Hawaii Forest Industry Association, Hawaii

– Pacific Whale Foundation, Maui

Government, Nonprofit, or Individual Supporter of Agriculture, Food or the Environment

– Chef Susan Teton Campbell, Maui

– Stuart Funke-d’Egnuff, Tri Isle Resource Conservation and Development, Maui

– Desiree Hikuroa, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center (WCCHC), Oahu

– Kevin Hopkins, Pacific Aquaculture Resource Center at the University of Hawaii at Hilo, Hawaii

– Ken Love, executive director, Hawaii Tropical Fruit Growers, Hawaii

– Vincent Mina, Maui Aloha Aina, Maui

– Lydi Morgan, Hawaii Farmers Union, Kokua Hawaii Foundation and Green House of Hawaii, Oahu

– Norman Sakata, Kona Coffee Cultural Festival, Hawaii

– David Santistevan, Laulima Eco-friendly Alliance of Farms, Oahu

– Stephanie Whalen, Hawaii Agriculture Research Center, Oahu

– Lyle Wong, Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Oahu

– Kokua Hawaii Foundation (KHF), Oahu

These awards are sponsored in memory of A. James “Jim” Wriston III, by his friends and partners Stephen Nimz, Stephen Swift and Alan Gottlieb. Writson, an Agricultural Leadership Foundation of Hawaii alumnus, lifelong agriculturalist and entrepreneur, lived a short but full life.

“Jim’s entrepreneurial spirit and environmental vision, his love for the land and his strong sense of right and wrong, his respect for others and the strength of his word are all qualities to be remembered,” said

Hawaii Tribune-Herald :: Hilo, Hawaii > Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.